Writing an eBook About Hoverboards Technology – Easier Said Than Done

As writers we are often assigned projects or come up with a project of our own. What may seem simple can quickly grow to full-scale monumental work. Take for example a recent project I decided on; E-book about a particular subfield of technology. Believe it or not it was an ebook on the future of skateboards, or hoverboard of the future.

Looking at the project, I said that a piece of cake, I ride a skateboard as a toddler, really all day. I can write an e-book off the top of my head in 2-days and since it is such a simple project, I can edit it and write it down, get pictures, and darn things in that time Can also format.

Well this small project which I thought could be done in 2 days, now it is in its first day and I am not even 15%. This means even if I do a butt kick, which I know will take 6 days to do. The original idea was proposed by a fellow writer who was doing a chapter of a book on the subject. I actually proposed to make it a big project and said;

“If you’re not writing what a” skateboard “book would tell me. I think the subject is interesting and can do it off the top of my head in the Dragon Voice software. So, I’ve already started.”

Certainly my thinking was that if they are not interested, I would make it an ebook for my website, as content [online think tank website] and that I would probably have done in a few days.

My thinking was why make it a kids book, so it would be a lot of drawings and illustrations rather than a reality-based plan of making a flying skateboard. An adult book on the other hand will be a topic that may be relevant to leadership for UAVs, NASA SATS Future Flight, military, skateboarding technologies described in a future sci-fi book chapter.

Needless to say that the project will be around 100 pages, which includes technical data and a lot of research and can easily take 8-10 days full tilt. Therefore, do not underestimate your commitment to a writing project, especially a book. I think this is really a tip for me to listen to my mirror? Think about it.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started